GF General Information · Gluten Free

The whys and whats of a Gluten Free diet.

Eating Gluten Free means you’re no longer eating the protein gluten. Gluten is found in Wheat, Barley and Rye. GF diet is utilized by those who have Celiac Disease. The symptoms of Celiac Disease may vary but the common issue is the irritation of the small intestines since your body is unable to process the gluten in the digestion process.

If you are recently diagnosed, please be aware that a lot of products are processed with gluten or are processed in a plant that may process gluten as well. Be sure to read all packaging information and learn more about your food.

Here is what is excluded, right off the bat:

Flour, Pasta, Barley, Rye, Bread, Beer, Noodles, Rice Mixes, Cereals, battered food (Wings, Fried food etc), Snack Foods, Soy Sauce, Salad Dressing, Pasta Sauces, ready made Seasoning packets, Processed Meat, processed peanuts (all kinds), some medicines etc.

All of the above foods have Gluten Free versions. Use the internet, research and get familiar with what you can and can not eat! It’s very important to know where your food comes from and what’s in it.

Happy eating.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s